Action Alert: You Can Still Help


It’s not over yet! There’s still time to stop bad bills and pass good ones.

Tuesday, April 2, is the last day of this year’s session of the Georgia General Assembly, and both the house and senate will be meeting every day this week. Here some things that need your time, attention and voice.

Call or email:

Rep. Houston Gaines (R-117) at (404) 656-0325, houston.gaines@house.ga.gov

Rep. Spencer Frye (D-118) at (404) 656-0265, spencer.frye@house.ga.gov

Rep. Marcus Wiedower (R-119) at (404) 656-0325, marcus.wiedower@house.ga.gov

Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-46) at (404) 463-1366, bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Frank Ginn (R-47) at (404) 656-4700, frank.ginn@senate.ga.gov

Make sure to tell your friends in other districts to call their state legislators, too. Don’t know who your legislators are? Find out here.

Also:

Speaker David Ralston (R-7) at (404) 656-5020, david.ralston@house.ga.gov

Sen. Jeff Mullis (R-53) at (404) 656-0057, jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov

You’re probably discouraged by the news late last week that the senate passed HB 481, which would outlaw abortion before most women even know they’re pregnant. But the senate made some minor changes in the bill. They don’t make it less terrible, but they do mean the house has to approve it again, so contact your state representatives and Speaker David Ralston to urge them not to pass it. Did you know 69 percent of Georgians (and 52 percent of Georgia Republicans) believe abortion should be legal? The poll those statistics come from was conducted in districts that include 117 (Houston Gaines’ district) and 119 (Marcus Wiedower’s district), meaning it directly pertains to their chances of reelection. Both voted for the bill the first time around. Abortions won’t stop if this bill becomes law, but it will hurt poor people, people of color and people who live in rural areas disproportionately. Senate Bill 15 is in the house. The “Keeping Georgia’s Schools Safe Act” has a great name, but in practice it’s just a way to put more police officers in schools and bolster the school-to-prison pipeline. Read our alert about it here and contact your local representative. House Bill 264, which would create transparency in ambulance/EMS oversight committees, is still in the senate. It passed out of the ethics committee but hasn’t yet come to the floor for a full vote. Sen. Jeff Mullis, chair of the rules committee, is sponsoring it there, so you can contact him to show your support as well as your state senator. And finally, did you think the fight against school vouchers was over? House Bill 68, currently in the senate, now contains much of the same language as the defeated Senate Bill 173. The senate couldn’t pass this cash grab from public education in a straightforward way, so they’re trying to sneak it in while you’re not paying attention. Let your state senator know you don’t support this.

Please contact your legislators as soon as possible.

TELL THEM: No on abortion bans, school vouchers and profiling in schools! Yes on EMS transparency! Thanks for caring, Legislative Action Network Athens for Everyone Want to get these alerts in your inbox? Sign up here. Facebooktwitterby feather