a group of men on a chain gang
Athens for Everyone opposes the use of unpaid labor by incarcerated workers because we believe all workers deserve a fair wage. The Athens-Clarke County Unified Government uses unpaid inmate labor to subsidize many of its departments, including the Solid Waste Department and Landscape Department. The mayor’s FY20 proposed budget continues […]

Contact the Mayor and Commission About Inmate Labor


Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in Athens have been privatized since 2009, when National EMS (now owned by Priority EMS) took over running our ambulances and medical 911 calls. We’ve already documented how this has led to consistent failure to meet response time obligations. The profit motive seems to have caused […]

Emergency: 911 call center needed in Athens


woman holding a coat hanger with "No HB 481" written on it
It’s not over yet! There’s still time to stop bad bills and pass good ones. Tuesday, April 2, is the last day of this year’s session of the Georgia General Assembly, and both the house and senate will be meeting every day this week. Here some things that need your […]

Action Alert: You Can Still Help



Athens-Clarke County Jail
In response to the Mayor and Commission’s work session on Wednesday, March 20, where criminal justice was addressed, we would like to take a moment to reiterate our related policy positions. We stress the urgency and necessity of transformative, unapologetic approaches to our criminal (in)justice system:   We oppose the […]

A Statement on Local Criminal Justice Reform


button with a picture of a coathanger with a no symbol over it
It’s time to tell our legislators that we support abortion rights! Call or email: Athens Senators Sen. Bill Cowsert: bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov or (404) 463-1366 Sen. Frank Ginn: frank.ginn@senate.ga.gov or (404) 656-4700 Senate Leadership Mike Dugan, Republican Senate Majority Leader: mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov or (404) 463-2478 Butch Miller, Republican Senate Pro Tempore: butch.miller@senate.ga.gov or […]

Action Alert: Support Abortion Rights


Call or email: Rep. Houston Gaines (R-117) at (404) 656-0325, houston.gaines@house.ga.gov Rep. Spencer Frye (D-118) at (404) 656-0265, spencer.frye@house.ga.gov Rep. Marcus Wiedower (R-119) at (404) 656-0325, marcus.wiedower@house.ga.gov Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-46) at (404) 463-1366, bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov Sen. Frank Ginn (R-47) at (404) 656-4700, frank.ginn@senate.ga.gov Make sure to tell your friends in […]

Crossover Day Is March 7!



cartoon about school vouchers that shows elephants dismantling a public school to build a private school
It’s time to tell our legislators we support public education in Georgia. Call or email: Rep. Houston Gaines (R-117) at (404) 656-0325, houston.gaines@house.ga.gov Rep. Spencer Frye (D-118) at (404) 656-0265, spencer.frye@house.ga.gov Rep. Marcus Wiedower (R-119) at (404) 656-0325, marcus.wiedower@house.ga.gov Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-46) at (404) 463-1366, bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov Sen. Frank Ginn […]

Action Alert: Say No to Vouchers


Emergency Medical Services (EMS) and the patients that rely on them in Georgia have suffered from conflict of interest, corruption and “corporate cronyism” according to a new group called the Georgia Ambulance Transparency Project (GATP). Right now, they are pushing forward HB 264 in the state legislature, which is an […]

The Clock is Ticking for EMS Reform in Georgia


a gavel, a pair of handcuffs, and a pile of money
Let’s tell our legislators to support real bail reform. Call or email: District 117: Rep. Houston Gaines: houston.gaines@house.ga.gov or (404) 656-0325 District 118: Rep. Spencer Frye: spencer.frye@house.ga.gov or (404) 656-0265 District 119: Rep. Marcus Wiedower: marcus.wiedower@house.ga.gov or (404) 656-0325 Make sure to tell your friends in other districts to call their state […]

Action Alert: Stop Undermining Bail Reform