Hand holding a pen with the word "alert" in red
Athens’ mayor and commission are still trying to give the Classic Center $34 million of public tax money. It’s time to tell them not to. Contact the mayor and your commissioner (or all of them) at: Mayor Kelly Girtz: kelly.girtz@accgov.com Patrick Davenport (District 1): patrick.davenport@accgov.com Mariah Parker (District 2): mariah.parker@accgov.com […]

Action Alert: Fix the SPLOST List


Migrants across the country are organizing in the face of neglectful conditions at the border and increasing attacks by ICE and the Trump administration. There are ways to support the work in Athens, too. Dignidad Inmigrante en Athens (DIA) is organizing workshops, canvassing days, and rapid response networks. Here’s how […]

Supporting Migrant Families: What You Can Do


On Wednesday, May 22, the Athens Lawyer Chapter of the American Constitution Society hosted a conversation with Tim Denson, District 5 Athens-Clarke County Commissioner, on the patio at Little Kings Shuffle Club to talk criminal justice reform. About 20 people gathered around the picnic tables, including Municipal Court Judge Ryan […]

Progress on Criminal Justice Reform in Athens



On Wednesday, April 19, 2019, Athens for Everyone welcomed members of the community to the monthly A4E Political Discussion Group. The focus for the evening was on actions and decisions made by UGA administrators, including university president Jere Morehead, related to the reinterment of the remains of former slaves of […]

Political Discussion Group Recap: Recognition & Redress at UGA


a group of men on a chain gang
Athens for Everyone opposes the use of unpaid labor by incarcerated workers because we believe all workers deserve a fair wage. The Athens-Clarke County Unified Government uses unpaid inmate labor to subsidize many of its departments, including the Solid Waste Department and Landscape Department. The mayor’s FY20 proposed budget continues […]

Contact the Mayor and Commission About Inmate Labor


Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in Athens have been privatized since 2009, when National EMS (now owned by Priority EMS) took over running our ambulances and medical 911 calls. We’ve already documented how this has led to consistent failure to meet response time obligations. The profit motive seems to have caused […]

Emergency: 911 call center needed in Athens



woman holding a coat hanger with "No HB 481" written on it
It’s not over yet! There’s still time to stop bad bills and pass good ones. Tuesday, April 2, is the last day of this year’s session of the Georgia General Assembly, and both the house and senate will be meeting every day this week. Here some things that need your […]

Action Alert: You Can Still Help


Athens-Clarke County Jail
In response to the Mayor and Commission’s work session on Wednesday, March 20, where criminal justice was addressed, we would like to take a moment to reiterate our related policy positions. We stress the urgency and necessity of transformative, unapologetic approaches to our criminal (in)justice system:   We oppose the […]

A Statement on Local Criminal Justice Reform


button with a picture of a coathanger with a no symbol over it
It’s time to tell our legislators that we support abortion rights! Call or email: Athens Senators Sen. Bill Cowsert: bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov or (404) 463-1366 Sen. Frank Ginn: frank.ginn@senate.ga.gov or (404) 656-4700 Senate Leadership Mike Dugan, Republican Senate Majority Leader: mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov or (404) 463-2478 Butch Miller, Republican Senate Pro Tempore: butch.miller@senate.ga.gov or […]

Action Alert: Support Abortion Rights