Government and Elections

Questions about voting or registering to vote?

Local Government

Athens-Clarke County has a consolidated city-county government which is run by Blaine Williams, our city manager, and the Mayor (Kelly Girtz) and Commission. Athens has 10 commission districts:

  1. Patrick Davenport
  2. Mariah Parker
  3. Melissa Link
  4. Allison Wright
  5. Tim Denson
  6. Jerry NeSmith
  7. Russell Edwards
  8. Andy Herod
  9. Ovita Thornton
  10. Mike Hamby

Recent legislation of note:

2019 Local Ordinances
2018 Local Ordinances
2017 Local Ordinances
2016 Local Ordinances
2015 Local Ordinances

State Government

Athens is served by three representatives in the State House, one Democrat and two Republicans, and two in the State Senate, all Republican.


  1. Houston Gaines (R)
  2. Spencer Frye (D)
  3. Marcus Wiedower (R)


  1. Bill Cowsert (R)
  2. Frank Ginn (R)

Recent legislation of note:
2019 State Legislative Session
2018 State Legislative Session
2017 State Legislative Session
2016 State Legislative Session
2015 State Legislative Session

Voter Guides and Endorsements

Athens for Everyone endorses candidates for local and state office who:

  • Represent Athens-Clarke County, Georgia.
  • Support our Platform.
  • Has demonstrated community engagement via advocacy, activism, or public service.
  • Has a strategy for success (either inside or outside the electoral process).
  • Convey what they believe by issuing a public platform or other significant public statements.

See past voter guides here.