Other Candidates

Athens for Everyone endorses candidates for local and state office who:

  • Represent Athens-Clarke County, Georgia.
  • Support our Platform.
  • Have demonstrated community engagement via advocacy, activism, or public service.
  • Have a strategy for success (either inside or outside the electoral process).
  • Convey what they believe by issuing a public platform or other significant public statements.
We have our eye on the candidates below, but none have yet received our endorsement:

Local Races

Kelly Girtz, progressive candidate for Mayor
Harry Sims, conservative candidate for Mayor
Richie Knight, conservative candidate for Mayor
Ovita Thornton, candidate for District 9 Commissioner
Tommy Valentine, candidate for District 9 Commissioner

State-level Races

Dawn Johnson (D), candidate for State Senate, District 47
Frank Ginn (R), incumbent State Senator, District 47
Stacey Abrams (D), candidate for Governor
Stacey Evans (D), candidate for Governor

Federal Races

Chalis Montgomery (D), candidate for Congress, Georgia 10th
Richard Winfield (D), candidate for Congress, Georgia 10th
Jody Hice (R), incumbent Congressman, Georgia 10th